SEO Book Competitive Research Tool Review

Mar 1st

I recently created a video walkthrough of our competitive research tool, which is powered by SEM Rush, and has a couple extra data points added in. It is about 8 minutes long, and should give you at least a couple good ideas for how to use competitive research tools to make more money from your websites.

Published: March 1, 2009

New to the site? Join for Free and get over $300 of free SEO software.

Once you set up your free account you can comment on our blog, and you are eligible to receive our search engine success SEO newsletter.

Already have an account? Login to share your opinions.

Comments

March 1, 2009 - 5:42pm

Is this tool available yet?

March 1, 2009 - 6:49pm
March 1, 2009 - 6:19pm

How would you describe the data accuracy of these competitive tools outside the U.S.?

Thanks anyway!

March 1, 2009 - 6:55pm

This tool is US focused...and powered by grabbing data from the US Google search results. So for other markets it will not be anywhere near as accurate, especially for markets that are primarily in another language.

Our tool is powered by SEM Rush. They also have a German .DE version and a Russian .RU version.

March 1, 2009 - 7:26pm

Thanks, Aaron, good to know!

March 2, 2009 - 12:54am

I'm very happy with it! Combined with a decent ranking tool, you can totally see the competitive keyword landscape for your competitors.

March 2, 2009 - 8:48am

Hi Aaron, cool that you utilized the api...

A couple of quick questions, I am going to be signing up for your membership section here in a few days, just waiting for my paypal account to be set up....

Just a thought, I had to jump through so many hoops to sign up with you as you only accept paypal.... Paypal has screwed over so many of us over the years, especially the old serious ebay powersellers....

Offer another method to pay, even google checkout or 2co ( i know their fee's suck) but you get the idea...

Your losing out a ton of business from people that have been screwed over by the paypal machine over the years... and don't know how to set up a new clean one.

Regardless my new account with paypal will be all verified sometime this week and I can sign up with you ( I would of signed up months ago if you had another payment option )

Sorry for the rant.

Bottom line I do a lot of SEO work and am wondering how many results per query can be exported.

I know their light subscription only allows 1000, I am using the next step up that allows me 10,000, but honestly one of my clients has over 42,000 different terms they are organically ranking for as of today, so I am going to have to bite the bullet and go for the enterprise version to get the 100K export limit.

What this really comes down too, is will I need to continue my subscription with SEMRush directly after I sign up with you or will your version give me the ability to export at least the 10K I have access to right now ???

Thanks for your time and all you have given to people like me trying to provide serious value to my clients... You've been an inspiration Aaron.

Thanks

March 2, 2009 - 1:17pm

Hi Migidy
If you want to go 42,000 keywords deep (which is pretty huge!) then yes you would need their enterprise level subscription.

Another option (though one with quite dated, and thus less valuable, data) is Xedant...it is a $497 (one time fee) desktop based solution that allows you to download as deep as you like from their data...but I think the Xedant data is about 4 months old at this point.

March 2, 2009 - 6:25pm

Aaron,

Great tool, btw it seems you are fan of xp. :)

March 2, 2009 - 8:30pm

Thanks for the info, I was thinking that would probably be the case, which is perfectly fine with me. I still think your service and his are totally undervalued...

In regards to Xedant, I have stopped using them as the data is just too old for most of what I am trying to accomplish, to far behind the curve for most of the jobs and sites I ended having to work on..

Have a good day.

March 27, 2009 - 10:12am

It is good to have these tool available of which you can took advantage of. Technology is providing great techniques to human in order to tackle from any kind of problems.SEO is contributing a lot in this field and diverting Internet traffic.
Tia Smith

November 7, 2009 - 4:03pm

Hi there,

You register, then login. There is an awful lot of information - too much.

But how do you find the SEO research tool download?

Yours,
Ty

November 7, 2009 - 5:17pm

The welcome email told you how to download the tools that are downloadable. This tool is web based though...it is not downloadable. And it is exclusively for paying subscribers.

New to the site? Join for Free and get over $300 of free SEO software.

Once you set up your free account you can comment on our blog, and you are eligible to receive our search engine success SEO newsletter.

Already have an account? Login to share your opinions.

  • Over 100 training modules, covering topics like: keyword research, link building, site architecture, website monetization, pay per click ads, tracking results, and more.
  • An exclusive interactive community forum
  • Members only videos and tools
  • Additional bonuses - like data spreadsheets, and money saving tips
We love our customers, but more importantly

Our customers love us!






    Email Address
    Pick a Username
    Yes, please send me "7 Days to SEO Success" mini-course (a $57 value) for free.

    Learn More

    We value your privacy. We will not rent or sell your email address.